585,705 active members*
4,423 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Proper use of a flycutter

Hi all... I recently purchased a Micro-Mark 82573 Mini Mill and 82710 Mini Lathe. I am a professional engineer, though I am absolutely a beginner at machining. The current project I am working on entails machining aluminum blocks to make a fixture that will slide on 5/16" shafts in both the X and Y directions under the control of stepper motors.

I have set up the 82573 and everything works great. It is truly a great little tool. Among many other accessories, I purchased a fly cutter set from LittleMachineShop.com (set #3094). I am attempting to use the 1-3/4" fly cutter to mill the surface of a 3" wide x 1" thick 6061 aluminum block. The cut is intended to be 2-1/4" x 3", down to a depth of 3/4". A picture is attached of the initiation of this cut.

However, I'm not sure if I have the fly cutter set up properly. It is chattering terribly. As received, I don't believe the tool bit was oriented properly, so I flipped it over. I've tried slow tool speed, fast tool speed, deep cut, shallow cut, fast feed, slow feed, etc. Nothing seems to result in the "sweet spot" -- and certainly not like anything in the videos I've seen online of fly cutting on the 82573 where it looked like it was cutting through butter. Something doesn't seem right with my setup. The best I can do is about 0.001" passes at very high tool speeds and very slow feeds... at this rate, it will take me hours to get down to 3/4". I've also attached a picture of the fly cutter as it is installed in the collet right now (the white paper is there for contrast to aid in you seeing the tool bit).

Do I have this set up properly? Do I have the tool bit oriented in the fly cutter properly?

Can I expect to cut both to the right and to the left... that is, in both directions?

Am I really just cutting as fast as the 82573 will allow? (The chattering suggests to me that something else is wrong...)