585,557 active members*
3,476 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Looking for a CNC Mill for home gunsmithing
Page 1 of 2 12

Looking for a CNC Mill for home gunsmithing

Hi!

I'm in the market for a small mill that I can use for gunsmithing/firearm related projects. I would like to mill these out in aluminum and stainless steel. What mill would provide me with enough capability to do these few projects? I am not looking to expand much more than this either, and I am just looking for enough to get the job done. I don't have a ton of space (apt dwelling), and so far I've been looking at a SX1,X2, and X3 line of mills. I have no machining experience, and the easier to setup and get going would probably be better.

Here are the projects I am interested in:
    2011 Frame (using stainless)
    AR15 Lower

Can you guys help guide me in the right direction?

Check out this one...This is a good review/information site made by Hoss2006
    I just purchased one of these myself and so far im very impressed...Hoss has all the variants listed as well...it is a BF20 mill so there are several to choose from. I picked the one from grizzly and i must say as long as you dont mind the slow shipping the quality is superb!

http://www.g0704.com/
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/

Thanks! I meant to post up that mill also, Hoss is a CNCGuns member too I believe and that's exactly where I found out about this site as well as that mill.

Do you think it would handle the tasks I have in mind in stainless? I'm not sure what kind of specs I should look for, other than envelope size.

im cutting A2 with mine so im sure stainless would be a go!

anyone got experince with stainless on the G0704 yet?
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/