585,883 active members*
5,354 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > VM1 Setting zero's manually (no probe)

VM1 Setting zero's manually (no probe)

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm very new to using a CNC mill.

Can someone tell me the proper way to set up tool offsets manually on a VM1, without using the probe because the part is too tall. For example, we're using 3 tools on this process, and endmill, and two drills.

My thought is that to set the part zero, you use the first tool in the part setup and set the z offset in part setup to zero (by touching off on the part), and then in the tool setup page, change the offset for that tool to zero (which should match with the part zero). For the next tool, you shouldn't touch the part setup, only the tool setup, and set the offset to zero only in the tool setup page. Then do the same for the third tool.

Is that right, or am I way off?

EDIT: I guess we need to use the part probe to the right of the table, which makes sense. But the question is still valid should the situation arise that we wouldn't have the ability to use that probe. Again, I'm not talking about the plastic probe for setting part zero, I'm talking about the tool probe that's on the table.

worse comes to worse, you could always take out the g43 H# out of the programs and just calibrate each tool to the top of the part, if the part was programmed from the top being zero on the z. you wont have a z offset to adjust, would have to do that in the program, but it works.

i am sure some of the old timers could chime in with the 1" block method of touching off everything to the table...

I don't have a setting probe so have to do all my jobs like this.