584,812 active members*
5,312 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > What secret options in an OMD control system, helix?
Page 1 of 2 12

What secret options in an OMD control system, helix?

Hi Guys,
    I'm new here obviously. I am completely new to CNC machines so I am incredibly pleased to find a site with so many helpful people and so much knowledge.

I have a Kent bed mill with a Fanuc OMD control system that I run from Dolphin CAD/CAM. I think I will need a memory upgrade because the Dolphin CAM produces masses of code for any helical move.

Because of my memory problem I was interested in the posts concerning upgrades and "optional" modes that are built into the Fanuc control system. Is there likely to be any helical options on my control system that could be turned on? Does anyone know what options are asleep in the control system or is this totally maker dependent? In view of the age of the control system can I still get the options activated?

Thanks, Brian

The Helical can be turned on by parameter but you also need the spindle encoder and spindle controller capable of using the feature.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Thanks Al.
    The machine has a notched belt drive from the VFD motor to the pulley/spline assembly.
    There are no connections to the spindle cartridge or the pulley assembly that I have seen. There are some extra wires going into the VFD motor that I have not identified (no circuit diagram).

Does the spindle controller card need to know a simple rotation count (ie 1 pulse per rotation) or does it need to know exact spindle angular position?

No point in getting excited about options if I do not have the hardware. I will investigate further thanks.
    Brian