586,000 active members*
4,953 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Cant contact HobbyCNC

Hi, newbie here..

I tried emailing Dave Rigotti (using [email protected]) three times and a failure delivery notice is sent to me everytime. What gives?

I'm still planning to buy his PRO kit.

Thanks

Jordan

PS
    Is there another email address of Dave out there? Pls help.

I am in the same boat as you. I also want to buy the PRO kit but all the emails I sent him got rejected.

This http://www.piclist.com/techref/io/st...m/SLAm_bld.htm seems more attractive although the commonly available stepper for it is the one from hobbyCNC. Oh well.. I hope somebody offer us alternate choices for both motor and drives (no Geckos pls). BTW my router is a 3ft X 2t affair with 30"x18" cutting area.

http://www.kelinginc.net/
    Steppers and servos, drivers and everything else.

cnc4pc.com
    breakout boards, relays, the works.

Just a few options.

I purchased and soldered a 4 axis hobby cnc pc board together a year ago and worked well but sold it for bigger and better right away. Good board on a super tight budget though.

I bought gear reduction and my servos through keling, and everything else through cnc4pc. Both are awesome people. I purchased Viper drives though, they do no make stepper drives.

Finally!

Thanks, diyengineer. It seems Dave is busy, with another drive design perhaps? The keling 425oz-in or the 282 oz-in is what I'm eyeing at the moment. I understand that I will not be getting the full power of the motor if I use unipolar driver. Knowing that, my CNC will have a 1:4 drive reduction. Do you think it will have enough force to mill wood? and perhaps aluminum?

Do you have a picture of your machine? how much does each axis weigh that the stepper must move? What kind of maximum Inches per minute do you want? What do you plan on machining metals or woods or both? Load up some pics!

Quote Originally Posted by j2sip View Post
    Finally!