586,009 active members*
4,778 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thought on Design found on Ebay

As I am new to CNC I have been doing tons of research before I start building. I came across a German made CNC router table on Ebay and thought it interesting. As I have examined the pics a little closer I began to wonder if the design was good or not. Here are some of the things that I noticed (as a novice of course).
    1.) Very thick uprights on the gantry, maybe 1" or better? The width is not much larger than the width of the stepper motors. The height seem to be minimal as well. The overall working area is 15.75"x11.8"x4.3" though a 39.37"x23.6"x4.3" is available and is more of the size that I am looking to build.
    2.) There is no bottom to the gantry. It looks like the X axis rails (rods?) may be pressed in? Anyway I was wondering how stable this would be. The horizontal brace(?) connecting both left and right sides of the gantry appear to be thin, almost more decorative than structural.
    3.) There are 2 Y axis ballscrews. I don't know why the idea tends to 'freak me out' but for some reason it does. (I realize that you have to use a controller that supports 2 Y steppers.) I am assuming that if you just use 1 ballscrew on the Y axis that binding is going to occur. Also notice the box mounted under the X axis stepper motor. What's up with that?

So any opinions or other observations? I can see where you might save a few bucks on materials with this design. Oh by the way here is the link to this item on Ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...522534852&rd=1
    You may want to check out their site which is listed within the Ebay ad as it has more pics and a few videos. Hopefully I pasted the pics below correctly.

Thats a pretty light duty machine. Keep in mind that unsupported rails will always have a bit of sag and flex.