585,906 active members*
3,739 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Fadal Repeatability Jogging and Backlash
Page 1 of 2 12

Fadal Repeatability Jogging and Backlash

Hi all,

Okay I'm a newbie, both to this forum and to CNC in general, so please bear with me.

I am working on a recently refurbed fadal 8030 and it appears that I have a z axis repeatability problem when jogging. If I use a dial indicator and jog the head up and down at various rates and return to the same depth based on the monitor numbers, the dial indicator can be out anywhere up to 0.005".

Now if I run the same test but use a program to run the head up and down my repeatability is within machine spec +-0.0004 inches. In both tests I locked the spindle and ran the dial indicator down onto the bed.

Is it possible that when you jog, the backlash compensation is not accounted for? If this is the case, that means setting tool offsets would become a nightmare if you are manually jogging down to a height block. Any ideas?

Thanks.

I was told long ago DONT use the handwheel on any machine for setting backlash.
    write a small simple program.

also when setting your offset via a handwheel you wont get perfect offset dims.
    there is a few factors one being the handwheel and 2 being the amount of friction you use.
    if you need off set exact, set them off a block then back them off a few and run your part bringing them in.

Quote Originally Posted by Delw View Post
    I was told long ago DONT use the handwheel on any machine for setting backlash.
    write a small simple program.

also when setting your offset via a handwheel you wont get perfect offset dims.
    there is a few factors one being the handwheel and 2 being the amount of friction you use.
    if you need off set exact, set them off a block then back them off a few and run your part bringing them in.
    Hi Delw,