585,977 active members*
4,115 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Garage shop machine selection

I have done a lot of tinkering over the years building different devices in the garage with just a drill press and metal saw but am finding that to be limiting my abilities. I recently decided I want to take the plunge and get a CNC mill and possibly a lathe. I don't really have a lot to spend maybe $5k USD a little more if I take out a loan. So this has me looking at the Shopmaster VFD with a 3.5 amp 4-axis CNC.

Is this a good choice? Are they generally regarded as decent machines?

I have limited machining background (machine shop class about 5 years ago) pick machines up quickly, and know computer very well, but will I be able to get something like this going on my own?

Basically this unit would be used to produce prototypes and when a design is finalized I would probably have things produced else where (emachineshop). I want to transition some of my work in to return.

Here is an example of a motor plate I made that really could have benefited from CNC mill:

You looking at converting it yourself or buying it already working?

Look into the Grizzly G0704:
    http://grizzly.com/products/G0704
    Grizzly G0602:
    http://grizzly.com/products/G0602

HOSS CNC: converting G0704 to CNC
    http://www.youtube.com/user/hossmachine

The thread on CNCZONE:
    http://cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111863

Both machines are about $1000 dollars each and are prime canidates to convert if you would want to go that route. I have (2) G0704's that i plan on converting. I hope to pick up the lathe this winter.

diyengineer,

Thanks for the response, I have been checking out your suggestions and looking over the CNC modification in Hossmachine's thread too. After viewing a couple videos of the setup I think I would really feel better buying the CNC system already installed, pretty much ready to go.