584,879 active members*
5,312 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How to retrofit a press brake

I am a mechanical engineering student and for my senior capstone project some fellow students and I are trying to retrofit a press brake. We are on a tight budget and we are trying to do an update. The main scope of this project is to put some kind of input so that the backstop will go back and forward, that is it. Any kind of help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

What system is on there presently?
    Is it just 1 axis, i.e. back gauge?
    It is not that simple as going 'back and forward' as it is commonly servo driven and feedback either via encoder or linear scale.
    It depends on what you already have on there as to what you might be able to reuse.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Yes, please elaborate.....details or pics.

watch this [nomedia="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38hfwvIbnjo"]YouTube - Homebuilt CNC press brake Mach3[/nomedia]

oops sorry this is the one that shows the cnc back gauge

So are u hoping to creat a program to crimp bend an arc in a sheet?

Help with retrofitting a press brake

The press brake which is currently in our shop is a Piranha 1157 and I believe that it is a 65 ton brake. Currently there is not a back stop on the machine. So, unfortunately there really is nothing for us to reuse. At the moment we just want a one axis with the back stop going forward and backward with some kind of input. I will get some pics of the brake asap so that you will be able to see exactly what kind of press brake we have and what we have to work with.

Well as someone who as retrofitted back gauges for a living, you will need a fairly extensive degree of mechanical additions as well as electrical/electronic.
    Not a good choice on a tight budget.