585,715 active members*
3,870 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Beginner. What size drill bit for snug fit 12mm hole?

Beginner. What size drill bit for snug fit 12mm hole?

Hi. I'm a newbie on the forums. What an incredible amount of information here! I hope someone can help me.

I have only a small amount of metalworking experience... I just know the basics and that's fine, it's not my main thing (electronics is).

I want to drill a hole with my mini lathe, in three or four different metals, to fit a 12.0mm dia insert into, in such a way that it is snug but not necessarily wedged in for ever.

I have a 12mm drill bit which (as I was expecting) makes a hole slightly too big.. the insert has free play.

Given the cost of decent 11.x mm drill bits, I don't want to buy 11.6, 11.7, 11.75, 11.8, 11.9 (you get the picture) just to find out which works best, if I only need to buy one or two.

So which do you think I should buy?

The 12mm dia (exactly, according to my micrometer) inserts are chromed brass. The four metal rods are about 30mm diameter in aluminium, copper, stainless steel and brass.

Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for any help.

Norman

You need an undersize reamer, available at MSC idustrial supply, for example.
    Drill the hole about 11,75 mm then ream thru'.
    Experiment with different speeds and cutting fluids as this can affect final size.

Good luck

That's great, thank you Mike.

Best wishes
    Norman

You're drilling on a mini lathe? Why not drill undersize and then bore to exact size required?

Boring bar sets are cheap, and a must-have tool:

http://littlemachineshop.com/product...3768&category=

CR.
    http://crevicereamer.com
    Too many PMs. Email me to my name plus At A O L dot com.

Quote Originally Posted by Crevice Reamer View Post
    You're drilling on a mini lathe? Why not drill undersize and then bore to exact size required?