585,764 active members*
4,076 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Haas VF 3 coolant blockage

Im running a lot of bronze material on a VF 3 and I keep having to halt production to try and clear a blockage I cannot see. We have cleaned the gate filter and also installed an external sock filter. Yet about every couple of days the coolant just stops draining back into the resevoir from the inside of the machine. So we end up staring at a massive amount of coolant inside the machine with no clue how to keep this from happening. Help of any kind would be appreciated.

My name is Guy Williams I am a service tech with Haas Automation, Inc. I would like to help you with your problem. You said you added a sock filter. Is it our AF filter system or did you buy one some were else? I just need some info to make trouble shooting your problem easier. You can get a hold of me at the factory. 1-805-278-1800 and ask for Guy Williams at ext 7110

I look forward to helping you with this problem.

Guy
    I believe he is talking about the part were it drains into the tank from the main machine. this is a known problem for alum, brass and bronze and fines.

Kartpilot74
    the ONLY way to fix it is to take your wash down hose and have it spray on that grate section of the machine. even if your chip auger is running the grate will clog up.
    I made a part(square part) like thats on the vf2ss over the y axis cover, put a male hose thread on one side (outside of the machine)bolted it to the left side of the machine just above the grate/perferations and hook the wash down hose on it. If I need to use the washdown hose I just unscrew it.

I have a ball valve on the wash down hose in the back that I can adjust for pressure/water volume.