585,759 active members*
3,863 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

PCNC 1100 help

I am using a PCNC 1100 with mach 3, and I am having trouble making it work. My goal is to be able to take files from solidworks then move them over and use them. Currently to do this I am using solidworks to convert the files to dxf then opening them with sheet-cam, then moving it to mach 3. When I import the dxf file to sheet-cam, it recognizes it, and shows what it should look like (file includes 4 letters), but then when I use the post processor to open it in mach 3 it only shows a tool path with a few of the cuts for the letters, but never all of them.

I do not know if any of this makes sense, I am new to cnc mills. Is there something that I am neglecting to do or what could my problem be? Also the computer has sprutcam and I do not know if that will do what I want. Is there an easy way to take a solidworks file and have this machine mill it other than what I have described?

Thanks for your help.

?Learning?

I think you need to spend some reading and learning about CNC/CAD/CAM. Sprut can easily import Solidworks parts, then you just need to learn how to program. There are tutorials on Tormach's website. I think you are trying to run before you can walk. Learning this stuff takes time, start with a simple something then move on to the more complex.
    RAD. Yes those are my initials. Idea, design, build, use. It never ends.
    PCNC1100 Series II, w/S3 upgrade, PDB, ATC & 4th's, PCNC1100 Series II, 4th

I agree, take a breath.... First, you appear to be confusing terms, maybe this will help:

CAD: A drawing package (2d or 3d) which is used to create a description in an electronic form of what you want to make. (Solidworks)

CAM: Takes the file from your CAD program and converts it into a file containing instructions on how to make your part. (SheetCam or SprutCam)