584,826 active members*
5,275 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

retrofit bridgeport cnc

I have an old bridgeport mill that I just finished restoring. I was toying with the possiblity of doing a cnc retrofit. A quick google search brought me to cnczone. I have no experience with CNC retrofitting of bridgeport mills. Can anyone offer any suggestions/links? Thank you.

Brenton

Read, read, read. Lots of good stuff in cnczone.

I am in the middle of a BP retrofit myself - the write-up is in the Bridgeport forum...as are a few others. There are links all over the place - you gotta do a little digging, but you will likely find everything you need to know in life right here at cnczone...well - about Bridgeports and CNC, anyway.

Scott
    Consistency is a good thing....unless you're consistently an idiot.

Wink

At the risk of blatant self promotion try my thread at

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8749

I'm maybe half done.....................

-jd

Quote Originally Posted by jdelaney44
    At the risk of blatant self promotion try my thread at

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8749

I'm maybe half done.....................

-jd
    Yours is one of the better threads, jd.

Scott
    Consistency is a good thing....unless you're consistently an idiot.

Hey guys. Thanks for the replies. I still am very new to this whole BP CNC retrofit thing, so I'll just keep reading. So far, it seems that my main problem is that most of the writeups are written for someone who already knows a bit about CNC stuff... no problem, I'm sure that will come with time and research on my behalf. Thanks!

Supa...check our Home Shop Machinist....there was a Bridgeport Boss conversion...oops just noticed that you're rebuilding an old Bridgeport....since you're rebuilding....you might as well use ballscrews...you'll want them for your CNC stuff.