585,727 active members*
3,940 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    0

    How to add Touch Probe

    done some searching but can't find info on how to attach a touch probe to gecko 540 from Mach 3

    found the blue screen with probe on mach site and downloaded it and thats as far as i get

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    0
    Hmmm no one using a touch off plate on their G540,,,:drowning:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    63
    I have one but using EMC2 not Mach3 so I am not much help to you. I am assuming you have already done so but if you need to wire it up you can get some diagrams from Geckodrive. Surely somebody will be able to help you.
    All the best
    Verm

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1602
    I would have to take my control box apart to be absolutely sure but as I remember it was trivial. I installed a pair of banana jacks in the front panel of my control box, one is connected to an input on the G540 which is appropriately mapped in Mach and the other is connected to the G540 ground.

    Have you seen this thread? http://www.cnczone.com/forums/mach_w...ification.html

    bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    0
    Thanks

    after reading some posts here, looks like input 13 on the 540 and then a ground

    just have to find the right script now

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    980
    This the script I've been using for Mach3 from here at the Zone:

    This is inches and you can set some of the variables as you would like them to be set.

    As always, take care when using scripts as you must use these at your own risk.

    Dave


    CurrentFeed = GetOemDRO(818) 'Get the current feedrate to return to later
    CurrentAbsInc = GetOemLED(48) 'Get the current G90/G91 state
    CurrentGmode = GetOemDRO(819) 'Get the current G0/G1 state
    PlateThickness = GetUserDRO(1151) 'Z-plate thickness DRO
    If GetOemLed (825)=0 Then 'Check to see if the probe is already grounded or faulty
    DoOEMButton (1010) 'zero the Z axis so the probe move will start from here
    Code "G4 P2" ' this delay gives me time to get from computer to hold probe in place
    Code "G90 G31Z-20 F10" 'probing move, can set the feed rate here as well as how far to move
    While IsMoving() 'wait while it happens
    Wend
    ZProbePos = GetVar(2002) 'get the axact point the probe was hit
    Code "G0 Z" &ZProbePos 'go back to that point, always a very small amount of overrun
    While IsMoving ()
    Wend
    Call SetDro (2, PlateThickness) 'set the Z axis DRO to whatever is set as plate thickness
    Code "G4 P0.25" 'Pause for Dro to update.
    Code "G1 Z.250 F60" 'put the Z retract height you want here
    While IsMoving ()
    Wend
    Code "(Z axis is now zeroed)" 'puts this message in the status bar
    Code "F" &CurrentFeed 'Returns to prior feed rate
    Else
    Code "(Z-Plate is grounded, check connection and try again)" 'this goes in the status bar if aplicable
    End If
    If CurrentAbsInc = 0 Then 'if G91 was in effect before then return to it
    Code "G91"
    End If
    If CurrentGMode = 0 Then 'if G0 was in effect before then return to it
    Code "G0"
    End If
    Exit Sub
    Dave->..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    0
    Thanks

    will give it a try

Similar Threads

  1. Touch Probe
    By Babba in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-11-2022, 04:36 PM
  2. cnc touch probe
    By shawnc515 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 11:10 PM
  3. touch probe
    By basswakr in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 02:18 PM
  4. Touch probe to ir receiver??
    By REVCAM_Bob in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-28-2007, 02:43 AM
  5. Touch Probe for a Noob.
    By lilricky2 in forum Digitizing and Laser Digitizing
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 11:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •