585,722 active members*
4,262 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > best (easiest way to increment Z depth)
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    24

    Question best (easiest way to increment Z depth)

    We don't have the Macro option, although I enabled the timed demo mode so I could use variables. Would anyone know of a simple way other than copying and pasting & making the program longer than it should, a way to increment the Z depth per pass, I was thinking there should be a G91 way of cutting an arc with cutter comp, then moving back to the beginning and lowering Z another .050, for a total of -.650 Z depth. Code is below,
    Does anyone know how much the Macro option costs on a TM-1 2007 model?
    Without variables because we wont have this after the demo runs out.

    Thanks for any help.

    Code:
    O00011 
    #100= -.050 (VARIABLE 100 SETS 1ST Z DEPTH) 
    N10 (T5 .501 4FL EM) 
    T5 M06 
    G54 G90 G00 X0.5 Y-1.8 
    G43 Z0.5 H05 
    S304 M03 
    
    N150 G00 X0.5 Y-1.8 
    G01 Z#100 F20 
    G01 G41 X0.3 Y-1.7022 D05 F10. (D5 IS NEEDED)
    G02 X-0.75 Y-2. R2. F1.8 
    G01 X-1.01 
    G01 Y-2.3 F20 
    Z0.5 F20. 
    G40 
    G01 Y-2.5 F20 
    #100= [ #100 - 0.050 ] (DECREMENT Z AMOUNT)
    IF [ #100 LT -0.65 ] GOTO200 
    GOTO150 
    N200 G40 
    G01 Z0.5 F20. 
    G00 Z7. 
    X2. Y1. 
    G53 G49 M05 
    M09 
    M30

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    You can do it with nested subroutines using an L count with the M97.

    What is it you want to make, hole, pocket, step down a perimeter, ??

    For interpolating a hole of course you can just use G91 and L right in the interpolation command;

    G91 G03 I J Z-.1 L10

    will do ten counterclockwise interpolations moving down -0.1 every time for a total of 1.0.

    If you can give me some sizes I might be able to give you some sample code the way I would do it.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    24
    It is a steel rectangular bar sticking out of a vise, with a 2.0" clockwise arc.

    see attached

    Then I will rotate 90 and put the same doubled (mirror image of the same)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 011.jpg  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    Is that a top view? You want to take the arc in several cuts rather than one cut?
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    24
    Yes several cuts , then a finish cut.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153
    Sorry, but I have to say I was looking at a HAAS awhile ago, but I didn't know this that they would choose to reward their customers choice by charging them extra to enable such a measly little macro that would make their mill a bit more versatile. Booo on HAAS man, Boooo.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    0
    You can turn the timed demo off after the program is written/loaded, and the machine will still run it. If you remember to turn it off every time, it'll last a long, long time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    Here it is using a 3/4" mill (enter 0.75 in the tool diameter on the offsets page.)

    I am using 1" square material

    The work zero is placed at the corner of the material.

    T1 M06 (3/4" MILL)
    etc
    etc
    N1 G00 X0.4 Y0.4 Z0.0
    N2 G91 G01 Z-0.1 F50. M97 P100 L10
    N3 G90 G01 Z-1.05 F50. M97 P100 L2
    N4 G90 G00 Z1.0
    etc
    etc
    etc
    G53 G00 Z0.0
    M30
    -------
    N100 G90 G41 D01 G01 X0.0 Y0.0
    N101 G02 R2.0 X-1.732 Y-1.0 F20.
    N102 G40 G00 X-2.0 Y-1.4
    N103 X0.4
    N104 Y0.4
    N105 M99

    Line N1 moves to the start point.
    N2 increments down Z-0.1 then goes to line N100
    N100 moves to the corner and sets tool compensation, notice we are back in absolute (G90)
    N101 does the radius
    N102 cancels tool compensation and moves away
    N103 moves to the X coordinate for the start point
    N104 moves to the Y coordinate for the start
    N105 returns to N2
    N2 increments Z down again and goes to N100
    When L has counted to zero N105 returns to N3
    N3 moves the cutter just below the bottom of the part and goes to N100 twice for two finish passes
    N4 moves Z clear


    I think I have got it correct but I haven't checked this on a machine. You can run it in Graphics or do a dry run without any tools or material.


    Laslo; There is another way to look at the way Haas prices their machines. If I don't want Macros, which I don't because I can't be bothered learning how to write them, I can save a couple of thousand dollars on the machine price and spend it on tooling. I have found because Haas has local subroutines that are tacked on the the end of the main program, can do subroutine calls with an L count and can nest subroutines many times deep I can do a lot of things that would need macros on a different machine.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    24
    Thanks Geof I'll try that out when I get back to work . I'm taking a week off so it will be awhile until I can try it.

    Thanks for the tip MillMark, now are you saying that the Macro option can be off and it will still run? If so I can program off line with variables and it will load in and run too? With macro demo off that is.

    Thanks again everyone!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    0
    The demo must be on to load a program with macros, or to write any macros at the control, but once the program is in the machine you can turn the demo off, and the program will run. I realized this while using G47 text engraving, which is all macros, on a mill without the macro option

Similar Threads

  1. Jog increment and continous/step
    By rrrevels in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 02:09 AM
  2. How do I increment step in one direction?
    By gurvy in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-21-2008, 11:48 AM
  3. How to increment a parameter in G-code
    By Involute in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 06:59 AM
  4. Jog Increment
    By gleas in forum Larken
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2007, 06:07 AM
  5. Increment the Z.
    By jeeybee in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-07-2007, 03:46 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •