584,861 active members*
4,818 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Hardinge Lathes > Fagor/Hardinge 8025- G-codes are they all the same?

Fagor/Hardinge 8025- G-codes are they all the same?

Hey guys,
    Im a new guy to metalworking and i was hoping i could get some advice and maybe a point in the right direction. Just as some back round info. i was an excavation contractor and ran heavy equipment and recently got a job working in a machine shop, i am a hard worker and would like to do the best and make the best parts i can as fast as possible. I am being trained on a few different sized Hardinge lathes with Fagor operating systems. The guy training me is only showing me how to enter offsets and select programs.

So basically im not expecting to be a tool maker overnight but i would like to take the initiative and try and learn some things that he isnt teaching me via you. There are a few different lathes i have access to and and some times im left to set up jobs on my own. I know on some jobs im told that there isnt a program set for the task im trying to accomplish and that i have to wait (when my boss asked me to get that specific job finished and sent on).

We machine cold head punches for screw pressing machines, and so far ive learned a few tasks such as facing off, cutting leads, indenting and cross-cornering pins for hexing(which im also being trained on).

So i guess my main question is - is there a list any where that can show me all the codes available for this operating system that has any sort of detailed explanation for a beginner like myself? ANY and ALL advice/information would greatly be appreciated!!:drowning: