584,800 active members*
4,746 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

scale drawing

I am new to Alibre I imported a jpg. Traced around the geomerty. copied what I drew, pasted into Alibre New Part. did an auto dimension. Now I want to scale it down. I have selected the xy plane and went to Features, to scale or mirror but cannot get the apply button to become active. In the help file it says that sheet metal parts and assemblies can not be scaled. This is just line drawing. what am I doning wrong?

Thanks,
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

Quote Originally Posted by dlaery View Post
    I am new to Alibre I imported a jpg. Traced around the geomerty. copied what I drew, pasted into Alibre New Part. did an auto dimension. Now I want to scale it down. I have selected the xy plane and went to Features, to scale or mirror but cannot get the apply button to become active. In the help file it says that sheet metal parts and assemblies can not be scaled. This is just line drawing. what am I doning wrong?

Thanks,
    You need to select the geometry that you want to Mirror or Scale. It works the same as the Direct Editing Feature.
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

www.refractotech.com

Thanks, I think I am trying to select. I have imported a dxf, corrected any open loops. Copied from the 2D sketch and pasted into new part. then in Feature I select Scale or mirror. I can't seem to get it to select.
    I select the xy plane first,
    I select the geomerty I want to scale and it turns blue, but nothing happens.
    I'm still missinig something.
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

Smile