585,717 active members*
4,024 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Talking Power supply problems

Although I am an electrician my conversion has been plauged with problems

Computer device conflicts that took 4 hours to resolve.

Mach3 communication error to Break Out Board that took 16 hours to resolve.

I got to the commisioning stage and the Z axis worked perfectly, connected the Y axis and the motor was hunting. Shut off the power supply to reverse A and B channels on the encoder, turned on the power supply and boom. Y drive had a flash over and the bridge rectifiers on both secondary power supply out puts shorted. 3 circuit boards melted the copper trace and not one fuse blew. That was a week ago. Now waiting for parts and give this another try. I really, really hope you do not have the problems I have been encountering.

All the best.

Ark1

TonyK.

My Layout

Here are some pictures of how I laid out my back board for my machine with terminal switches, computer and Power Supply. This could give you some ideas.

The enclosure, and terminal strips I purchased from a used electrical supply warehouse with a bundle of control wire for $100.

I used military style connectors to the control cabinet and the machine incase I have to relocate it.

Ark1

TonyK.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Power supply 10.jpg   Back Board 10.jpg   Control 10.jpg  

Smile ARK1 Problems

Ark1,

Just read your post concerning your hardware problems.

"I got to the commisioning stage and the Z axis worked perfectly, connected the Y axis and the motor was hunting."

This normally indicates the encoders are reversed, so your next step seems correct.

"Shut off the power supply to reverse A and B channels on the encoder, turned on the power supply and boom. Y drive had a flash over and the bridge rectifiers on both secondary power supply out puts shorted. 3 circuit boards melted the copper trace and not one fuse blew.