584,837 active members*
5,452 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Rotary Broaching

I have a job I am doing and the part needs to be internally broached T60 I am interested in rotary broaching the parts in my machine I found a company that makes torx rotary broaches and when I was speaking to the salesman he thought that I might have trouble overloading my servos I found this unlikely but I have no experience with this at all so here it is

Haas VF3SS
    T60 rotary broach
    303 Stainless Steel part

Thanks in advance

Max thrust for Z axis is 3923 lb, maybe compare that to a Lathe z axis thrust that is known to work with the broach.

Andrew.
    VF3+TRT210, VF3, VF2+HRT160, VF2SS+TR160, VF2SS+TR160, VF5TR, VF5TR, VF2SS+HRT-210HSHS,VF2SS+HRT-210HSHS,VF2SS+HRT-210HSHS

That is a good call I will look into it for sure
    The guy that makes the broaches was more concerned with the X & Y holding force
    I guess is because it creates a huge side load on the part as it works

I guess I don't see how rotary broaching would cause any side loads. I thought you were asking about Z axis loads as well.
    Greg

I agree, side loads are a minor issue compared to factors like depth, material and pre-drill size.