585,722 active members*
4,474 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > How to get an Irregular Surface cut?

How to get an Irregular Surface cut?

Hey Guys,

I am new to machining, and I use AutoCAD. I have a part that has an irregular surface, basically it slopes dips rolls you name it. This surface covers about 2" by 30". Right now this part is represented in AutoCAD by about 1,500 points. Any Ideas on how I should process this so BobCad could mill? What is expected from me as a hand off to a CAM operator?

Thanks!
    http://www.dreamtone.org/cnc/Mechanical_Design.JPG

Is this for a guitar neck?

I don't know the answer, but maybe if you post some files someone can help you better.

vetsen

Quote Originally Posted by vetsen View Post
    Is this for a guitar neck?

I don't know the answer, but maybe if you post some files someone can help you better.

vetsen
    vetsen,

I think this will describe it better, picture some wet cement nice and smooth then you made a fist and lightly pushed it into the cement and then repeated this over again for about 30". This is the type of irregularity I have.

Thanks,
    Rob

WHat Vetsen means is there is too little information to be able to make an intelligent suggestion for you...

First you mention that your data is in "point format". BobCad doesnt have any regular automatic tools for making surfaces out of point cloud data... Other programs like Rhino have tools like this...

WHat BobCad will need to toolpath a 3d surface is a 3d surface, so the question is how to get a surface out of the data you have.. We cant answer that without the data....

If it's proprietary somehow, try to break out just a small section that doesnt give away the boat, but allows someone here to work with you.. If it's not proprietary, just post the file here...