585,735 active members*
4,882 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Uncategorised CAD Discussion > Newby wanting software, other suggestions

Newby wanting software, other suggestions

Hello all,
    I am a machine designer for a small machine shop in Temple, tx. I have a bridgeport copy, a surface grinder and 2 lathes in my home shop.
    I have been playing with converting old military mausers to sporting rifles. I also have my own manual machine little shop at work and mainly run the bridgeport at and do lathe work but very little threading. I do alot of programming on small unitronics PLCs. We do have about 20 CNCs.

I am in the process adding CNC capability to my home bridgeport (on the cheap) but am a real novice. Have been lurking around this site and others .

Finally bit the bullet and yesterday ebayed a 2 axis Glentek GA linear servo amp and a Glentek GA5520 PWM Brushless Servo Amp

Glentek GA5520 PWM Brushless Servo Amp - eBay (item 150533178638 end time Dec-19-10 19:05:19 PST)

Glentek GA6520 Dual Linear Brushless Amplifier - eBay (item 150533176546 end time Dec-19-10 19:00:04 PST)

These were from a dover CNC device.

I would like some information on some freeware, prefer windows based, software to get the feel and then I will upgrade.

Also some really cheap brushless servo motors just to play with.

I am 63 years old and have a pretty good life experience background and a good electrical knowledge, and am fairly computer literate.

Have heard there is a NIST EMC CNC software that will run servo amps but what is the "linux". is it different than windows? Is there a better beginner software? basically I just need to drill hole patterns to begin with (xyz)

what kind of torque do I need (oz-in) just to move the xy axises on a bridgeport?

Linux is a different operating system