585,942 active members*
3,355 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Shrink FIT

Page 1 of 2 12

Shrink FIT

HI

I WANT TO FIT A BEARING OVER A SHAFT IN SHRINK FIT. (SHRINK FIT MEANS EITHER BY COOLING THE SHAFT...so that shaft gets undersize OR BY HEATING THE BEARING...so that it gets Oversize.)

I HAVE A CARBIDE SHAFT & I KEPT IT IN A FREEZER FOR A COMPLETE DAY. BUT STILL ITS SIZE DID NOT WENT UNDERSIZE.??

CAN ANYONE TELL ME THE PROPER WAY OF COOLING A SHAFT???

THANKS
    ASHISH

Your carbide shaft may have a very small coefficent of expansion. The bearing may grow more for the same amount of heat. Make sure you do not heat the bearing beyond it's operating heat limit., the lube may "cook" out.

Dick Z
    DZASTR

I am no expert at all but remember my customers HEATING the outside piece and COOLING the inside piece and then putting them together.... oven and cooler full of dry ice. got best of both worlds then hurried to put together. so maybe do both? maybe do dry ice for colder temp?

Hey,
    Thanks for the REPLY.

But Up to what temperature, the shaft (or bearing) should be cooled (or heated) to contract (or expand) by 0.015 mm??
    Any IDEAS !

Thanks
    Ashish

For the bearing, just look at the spec for max temp.

For the shaft, freezer should be enough.

But you have to understand that when it will be the time to put the bearing in place, you'll have to be 100% ready with everything you need ready too, hammer, round pipe to place the bearing at full depth.

You will have only, maybe one second or two before bearing get back to it's original size when it make contact with the cold shaft, after that, it's too late.

It will be very difficult to remove the bearing if you get it wrong.

Just my tough.

Jeff

What diameter is the bearing bore? The max. operating temperature is usually listed in the bearing catalog eng./tech section.