585,758 active members*
4,568 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

First post - need some advice

Hello:

I am new to CNC. Been reading the forums and googling and decided to build my first CNC router. I want to be able to cut 3/4" wood and plywood and 0.6 to 1.0 milimeters aluminium. I need the bed to be 4'x4' or slightly more. I am thinking something like this: Mark K's CNC Machine

I like cncrouterparts' 3 Axis Electronis Kit with 380 oz-in steppers and the Gecko G540 driver. This seems to be a winner kit but, been new to this activity, I want to know if it will be able to handle my actual needs. And in the future, if I want to go for 1" hardwood? 5mm aluminium?

Also, what kind of power will I need in the router? is a laminate trimmer like the Makita 3709 enought? Is variable speed a must for cutting metal?

CNCRouterParts

Thanks in advance,

Gonzalo

For 4 x 4, you will need a roller chain design, or rack and pinion. 4' screws are probably too whippy, although people have built them. Most 4 x 4s have double drives on Y, because the gantry is too heavy to drive it with one motor.

I think the real machinists here (which I am not), say that cutting aluminum on an MDF based machine doesn't work so well. 1 mm AL is pretty light, so perhaps you can get away with it.

It does seem a shame to build something as big as 4 x 4 and under power the spindle. I think you want a full sized router, and not a trim router. There is a thread here about "super pid" which is a very cool way to get the lower RPMs you want to cut AL.

I have a 4 x 4 that uses the whole cncrouterparts line - the carriages, R&P drive, etc. It's a Fineline Automation FLA-300. This is an 8020 based design rather than MDF. Costs more, less work, more rigid, probably more accurate, although lots of folks here have very accurate cuts on their MDF based machines.

You might also look at the Joe's Hybrid.