584,826 active members*
5,091 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > What is the best way to drill holes?

What is the best way to drill holes?

I'm new to CNC work. I have a background in electronics and have recently built a CNC router out of 8020 extrusions with a PorterCable 690 1 3/4 hp router as a spindle. I have a VFD and can run the router between 8250 rpm and 27500 rpm.

I work in the marine industry and will be cutting mostly wood, plastic such as StarBoard, some aluminum as well as engraving electrical panels and other engravable materials.

What is the best way to drill holes in these various materials?

It seems that using the 1/4" endmill is a great way to drill 1/4" holes, but what about smaller and larger holes?

Are there special drill bits with a 1/2" or 1/4" shank available?

Is it reliable to spiral drill holes larger than 1/4"?

Any ideas are welcome. If this topic has been discussed before feel free to post links, I'm new here and still don't know where all of the good info is.

Thanks,
    James

First, how are you running a 690 with a VFD?

8250 is still pretty high for drilling. I'm using a Super-PID on a 690 and can drill at 5000 rpm.

If you need holes larger than 1/4", I'd just route them.

For smaller holes, Precise bits has 1/8" collets, and different size bits with 1/8" shanks. Precision solid carbide tools for woodworking and metal forming.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    First, how are you running a 690 with a VFD?

8250 is still pretty high for drilling. I'm using a Super-PID on a 690 and can drill at 5000 rpm.