585,567 active members*
3,346 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Surface Finish

I am fairly new to Pro Machining. I took a class a while back on Wildfire 3 which is what we are using. I don't get much time on the software because we only use it for more complex geometry. I ran into some issues this past week on some parts that I was working and was wondering if someone had some suggestions. In the pictures you can see that the finish around the main body has some scallops that I couldn't figure out how to fix. I did a surface mill using a window and setting the max depth. My thought was maybe to stop the mill window short of the main body and use a trajectory mill to finish out that area. The picture shows the bottom side but I had the same problem with the top side. The last picture shows that I was able to remove the problem area by filing and sanding. I was really hoping that I could machine without all the hand work.

Bernie
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_7227.JPG   IMG_7228.JPG   IMG_7232.JPG   IMG_7246.JPG  

Bernie,
    The marks are from the stepover value set in the parameters.you change that and the marks shoud dissapear. there is another parameter that might help called wall scallop height. if set will make the marks smaller or dissapear. I try not to use the scallop height parameters because it adds a lot of time to programs. I just calculate the stepover value to clean up the cutter marks. (Example)A 1/16 diameter end mill with a step over of .003 should leave a cusp height of .00004 when using the surfacing routines.