584,817 active members*
4,660 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Mentors & Apprentice Locator > Lost Don't know where to start. No Job No CNC Experienc

Lost Don't know where to start. No Job No CNC Experienc

I graduated from college and has a lot of bad lucks of finding work. Now I want to get into CNC field but I see job postings they require years of experience.
    How do I get into CNC ? Do I need to go to a trade school or get a certificate or something ? Please someone guide me. Thanks

Does your degree relate to machining?

This trade starts slow and builds upon experience,
    no substitute for "time in the trade"

It may take 5-10 years to get a good chance at a future in CNC

Start by hanging around a shop for free,
    but you may starve waiting for the opportunity.
    Been doing this too long

What I did to start in CNC was lie, I told that I had 1.5 yrs of expirience. so the company where I work send me to a training and thats where I started. the only experience that I had before that was at school where we only did 1 program, by hand and in a notebook.

Any journey starts with a first step! Make a goal, start education training, offer free labor for on hands experience (be persistant) and keep positive metal attitude.

Quote Originally Posted by qinboxmail View Post
    How do I get into CNC ? Do I need to go to a trade school or get a certificate or something ? Please someone guide me. Thanks
    Trade school helps. One thing they stress is safe operation. Large machine tools are dangerous and potentially deadly. I've seen a couple of close calls involving experienced machinists, even calculated risks will catchup eventually.