585,908 active members*
3,791 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need EZ Track SX help

Gentlemen,
    I am a hobby machinist and completely new to CNC. I just recently purchased a 1994 Bridgeport EZ Track SX, 2-axis machine knowing that it had a problem with the control system. The person I purchased from said he thought it may have a bad motherboard. When I got the machine the motherboard, MIO400 board, VGA board and BMDC board had all been removed. After reading many posts in this forum I checked the battery on the MB (386 SX-16/20/25 DNE)and found it to be bad. I am remote mounting a battery pack as suggested in this forum. I am now at the point of re-installing the boards but since I am completely ignorant about the inner workings of computers, and my schematics don't give the specific information I need, I'm not sure if it makes a difference which ports are used to plug the BMDC, VGA and MIO400 boards into the MB. Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Also, if you know of any "landmines" I need to avoid as I work through this, PLEASE let me know. Thanks very much.

Generally, card location doesn't matter much in computers of that age, as long as you're not trying to plug a 16-bit ISA card into an 8-bit ISA slot.

Anyways, on my EZ-Trak here at work, the BMDC card was a FULL LENGTH card (i.e. very very long) so it went into the ISA slot on the far side of the motherboard, where it was also screwed into a "support arm" that was part of the mounting "cage" that all of the PC innards were mounted on, which in turn was mounted into the EZ-Trak control box.

The boards identify themselves to the mother board. Plugging them in is a matter of convenience. Usually there is a small right angle bracket to hold the opposite end of the BMDC to the back of the electrical enclosure.