585,717 active members*
4,121 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

picture to engraving?

i am fairly new to the cad/cam world and have a few questions if somebody wouldn't mind helping out. i have been seeing alot of photo to engraving articles out there lately. i understand that the photo will have to be scanned into some type of software and then converted to g-code eventually. my question is this: what software, or packages are necessary to perform this operation? how does this work, as in: scan to what type of file, convert to what type of file and then .... eventually load and run on a cnc machine?

there seems to be, in my mind anyway, a large cloud that the photo goes into and the engraving pops out the other side. could someone put this in laymans terms, kind of an engraving for dummies format?

thanks for the help.

mark

If the photo is in jpg or bmp format, you can get g-code from Mach2/3, http://www.artofcnc.ca or use something like MeshCAM, http://www.grzsoftware.com
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Ive actually been meaning to ask a similar question.

I know there are programs to make this happen but I am curious as to how they determine what is 3d and what is flat from the photo???

Is this something that the user has to determine and enter values or is it something better like the software determines from the shadows how far away and what the curvature is??? (doubtfull but hopefull)
    thanks
    Michael T.
    "If you don't stand for something, chances are, you'll fall for anything!"