585,883 active members*
4,686 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > Waterjet General Topics > Isolated Ohmic Sensor Switch for CandCNC Bladerunner

Isolated Ohmic Sensor Switch for CandCNC Bladerunner

I'm hoping that maybe Tom and Jim might jump in here...

I'm looking for an "electro guru" out there that may be able to help me with a project.

I would like to isolate a circuit switch that is triggered by the ohmic state of my hypertherm torch head and the workpiece (basically a "touch-n-go" system) that doesn't fry my micro electronics on my CandCNC I/O board!

I'm NO electrical engineer... This is why I draw instead of talk....

Anyone want to put a RADIOSHACK shopping list together for me???

I just ran from the bathroom to post this additional thought that just came to me!!!

Would this make sense...

What you see in the photograph is an photo-coupled 9v dc relay. COMPLETELY isolates the I/O board components from the plasma operation...

By the way... Here's the link to the spec sheet on this photo-coupled relay switch:

http://www.crouzet-ssr.com/english/p...oad/dc_ssr.pdf

Quote Originally Posted by Voodoo Vintage View Post
    I just ran from the bathroom to post this additional thought that just came to me!!!

Would this make sense...

What you see in the photograph is an photo-coupled 9v dc relay. COMPLETELY isolates the I/O board components from the plasma operation...

Better stock up on several. The 300V spike will take out the input on the SSR as sure as it did the input opto. At the least you need a 24 V TVS across the inputs. Maybe an inline small fuse before the TVS to blow to protect the SSR.

The other thing that would worry me is how much surface oil, or dirt you need to stop the 10 ma of current needed. At 9 V you only need maybe 100 ohms of resistance for the relay to not fire. I may be just fine but it needs to be tested in a wide range of conditions.