585,975 active members*
5,008 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

ZenBot 1624 Diary

I started off looking to build a machine, and am still working on that. But I have some immediate needs for prototyping that only require cutting plastic so I looked around and finally settled on a Zenbot.

I chose the Zenbot for a couple of reasons. First off, it looks like a well designed and well built machine for the price. I will eventually need it for some production work and the super fast rapids were attractive.

Also, it's made in the USA. Call me old fashioned but soon us yanks will have nothing left if we always buy the cheapest thing we can find from China.

Lastly, Shaun was very helpful, patient, and informative on the phone. I'm new to this CNC router thing, so service after the sale will be a big deal to me.

I looked on the web and found a couple of reviews and they were good. I was a little surprised not to find more, so I figured I would add one here for the next guy to come a long wondering about the Zenbot.

On this thread I'll chronicle my experience and try to show what the machine can and can not do.

Selecting the model

I called Shaun and asked him a thousand questions so I could decide which machine was best for me. My first priority was to get the stiffest machine possible. The second priority was to get the largest one possible.

It turns out, the 1624 and the 2424 use the same gantry design, but the 2424 has a longer gantry. That means the 1624 will be stiffer. The smaller models use a different gantry that's not as strong. So, as far as I can tell from the information I got from Shaun the 1624 has the stiffest gantry.

Shaun also recommended the Bosch Colt router. I ordered that and it should be here any day. I also ordered the 1/8" precision collet from Precision solid carbide tools for woodworking and metal forming.

With the machine I ordered the Zenbot control box and Mach 3 software.