584,800 active members*
4,273 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Recent Purchase - Sherline 5400

Recent Purchase - Sherline 5400

Hi all, after quite a bit of research and a little luck I am now the proud winner of an eBay auction for a Sherline 5400 (http://cgi.ebay.com/Sherline-CNC-mil...QQcmdZViewItem). I am very excited to get my hands on it an start fiddling around. I have had limited hands on experience with CAM but took a class in college where I learned gcode and used surfcam to machine some simple aluminum parts. I bought this mill to primarily make plastic prototypes for consumer electronics but would also like to experiment with cutting aluminum (or soft steels?) such as watch cases or the like.

I hope to be a very active member of this community so I figured I would introduce myself to everyone and ask around if anyone had any suggestions for tooling or upgrades I might want to make to my sherline in order to make some of the aforementioned parts. I am also interested in hearing from the experts what the preferred method of coding and running your sherline. For design I use Solidworks. Thanks for looking!

Regards,
    Drew

Looks pretty good man...

While I am not into the very small mills that deal looks like a good one. I know a lot of guys use them to make wax ring blanks and jewelry as well as all manner of remote control car/boat/plane parts. It even has the rotary unit that you could I assume eventually turn into a fourth axis. That is also including some tooling and shipping and the computer/controller so that is a very good deal I would think. Please post pics when you get it an enjoy!!! peace

Pete

You probably want to convert