584,805 active members*
5,102 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > What max spindle speed should a mill have ?

What max spindle speed should a mill have ?

Hi All

I am totally new to machining and wonder if you could give me some guidence.

I have located a mill that is on special in my area and it looks good to me except that the max spindle speed is 1600.

I want it for general use and small stuff (I fly rc planes) - I am wondering if that low speed will not be a problem with small cutters for modelling applications ?

This is a link to the type of mill (not from these people though)

http://www.allproducts.com/manufactu.../product5.html

Any other comments will be graetly appreciated.

regards
    Tim

I imagine that is because it is a 1:1 with a 4 pole motor on 50hz. That is a bit restrictive, as many knee mills will go up to around 3000.
    Some put a 3ph motor on with VFD, 1phase fed, and run the motor at 2x normal rpm.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

May I be so bold as to suggest stepping bakc a minute or two before making an investment in such a mill. The mill in question is certainly a nice unit but may not it your needs well. Thus it may pay to research and learn a bit about machining before plunging in.

As to yoru question, like all things in life it depends. The dependancy here are the materials you will machine, the diameter of the tools and your skill with the machine. For example this mill might not be very usefull at all for machining balsa or even aluminum.