584,837 active members*
5,590 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Noob - Helping friend use CNC router.

Hi, I am new to this.
    Couple of questions for the you guys. This forum is awesome and I have learned a lot from reading.

I am a computer geek.I took a class on CNC programming using Mastercam a long time ago. That's about all I know.

My friend used to work with a guy that programmed his CNC router. That guy is gone, so he asked me to help out, said the thing is collecting dust. I am helping him for free, cause he is a good guy and CNCs have always interested me.

The Router is a:
    Digital Tool Inc. Model DR 903-1
    9/22/93 dated
    with Anaheim Automation Controls

Right now it is connected to an old 386, or 286, pc with what appears to be 2 parallel cards connected through a controller. Does this make sense? I want to bring him in to the future if I can. He was given a decent machine P4 3ghz 1gb ram. Can I locate and purchase 2 pci parallel cards and connect the CNC to that? On the 386 he can still run his programs. He runs a program then types the name of the program and then types MOTOR to send it to the CNC. I have read here about Mach3 would this be a substitute for this program? Also any recommendations on PCI Parallel card, if I can do this?
    Found a link to this in a thread...
    Newegg.com - Rosewill 2 port Parallel (SPP/PS2/EPP/ECP) Universal PCI card Model RC-304
    still the one to buy? just one?

Next question. My friend has explained that his router will not do any "absolute" values and can only use "incremental." He remembers his partner used to convert the code to incremental. If true, is that a limitation of the controller or the software used to control it, so if we bought Mach3 would that now overcome that issue?