585,996 active members*
4,572 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: CNC "Beast"

Page 1 of 6 123

CNC "Beast"

For about 15 years, I have wanted to try my hand at CNC machine construction. Back then, there was limited Internet to help me and my friends working in this space told me all of the components were well out of reach price-wise of the average guy, so that was just one more crazy dream put on the backburner. (It went back there with home foundry, welder, mill, lathe, homebuilt airplane, a few software ideas.) I also did not have the space to build any of this.

Now, the prices have come down on these things and the Internet has allowed me to learn that there are gobs of crazy guys like me that want to do, and have done, all of the same things. I built myself a dedicated, heated and air conditioned workshop (aka "man cave," "hiding place," "mad scientist lab" - 36' x 20' with 9-1/2' ceilings) to feed my insanity. I am an engineer with extensive CAD knowledge and 20 years of work experience but not as much real practical experience turning ideas into reality and I use the phrase "I don't know" more than anything except possibly "Sorry, honey." I welcome all help and ideas. I have been impressed by the things I have seen people on these forums do and with everyone's helpfulness.

My objectives with this machine:
    1. Primarily will do woodworking projects - plywood, hardwood, but I also want to cut large foam pieces (think single seat aircraft fuselage mold plug and wing sections). While I am at it, I want to be able to machine aluminum, but I understand there are also limitations.
    2. I need it to fit in my shop and not be the only thing that fits in my shop.
    3. Regarding number 2, I can make this happen more easily if I design the machine such that the table is also useful as a work table when I am not committing CNC so my concepts have started gong this direction.