586,000 active members*
4,834 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Cincinnati CNC > Sabre 500 A2100 (Axes drive not enabled) Help

Question Sabre 500 A2100 (Axes drive not enabled) Help

I am new to this machine so I am still trying to figure out some of these errors. This one I am stuck on. When I press the green button on the controller it powers up for 10 seconds then comes up with this error.

"Axes drive not enabled" and shuts back off. I don't see any errors on the drives and I am not sure were to begin

Thanks

drives have small u before you push green button. then they should go to "1" with a decimal point to the right of it if the drive is ok.

If one of the drives does not have 1. then it is not ready and probably reporting to the control a fault. the control watches the drive fault contacts to be sure they are all ok; these are normally open contacts on C3 front screw terminal strip - pins 5&6. so you can check across these to see if you have 0 volts (good) or 24v (means it is open = bad).

the spindle drive and PA50 power supply also have fault contacts that need to be closed for the drives to stay on.

let us know how u do.

Were do I find the u or the 1. I only know of indicator lights on the front of the drives. This is a 1994 machine with BDS4 drives and VDS5 Spindle drive. Thanks for the help

oops - thought u had servostar drives not bds4's right they ave lites instead. depending on age. red is bad green is good. enable does not come on for that 10 sec at all?

The three drives seem to come on fine. 3 green lights on each. For ten sec. Could it have anything to do with the spindle drive.

Thanks

drive enable

hello
    yes it could be a problem with either the spindle drive or power supply.