584,866 active members*
4,904 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tree > Tree J300 with Delta 10 - Axis won't jog

Tree J300 with Delta 10 - Axis won't jog

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I just got my Tree Journeymen 300 fired up today. It was upgraded in 1992 to a Delta 10 controller with all Baldor servos. When I start the machine up I get no faults. I select Mode > Jog > Medium. I then try to jog in any of the axis by selecting one of the jog axis buttons and absolutely nothing happens. I haven't checked any voltages yet, but I was wondering if anyone knows what might be happening. The Delta 10 controller shows green lights on all of the indicators. I can't run any programs until the machined has been homed.

This is my first time using a Delta controller. I am going to start checking voltages tomorrow. I noticed that each of the X, Y and Z axis cards have 4 LEDs on them indication faults. None of the LEDs are lit. There is also a switch next to the LEDs. I pressed it and nothing happened. Any ideas?

Thanks,
    Brenton

Did you reference the machine first? I have a Dynapath 20 and you can't do anything until you reference it. On the screen you have displayed, hit R instead of a jog speed and follow the machines procedure for referencing.

Sorry, I forgot to mention that. I tried hitting R and it does nothing... No sounds, nada.

If the drives are powered up (the machine is out of E-stop) and there are no faults, you should be able to jog the machine. The display in the picture you posted looks like you're doing the right things.

Check that the feedrate override pot is on and turned up. In particular, check that the on/off switch at the fully CCW position is working properly. If the switch is off (or it looks like it's off to the control), you won't be able to move any of the axes.