584,841 active members*
4,431 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question fanuc program code vs. Haas code

this is officially my first time posting as a member... I have found very useful information on this site.... Anyways i am needing to know if there is a differance between writing a g code program on a fanuc controller and a haas controller.... I currently work in a shop with all fanuc control and can write and edit programs easily but i am enrolling in a programming class that uses all haas machines.... Will the programs interchange from mill to mill?

Most Fanuc programs should run on a Haas without major changes.

Haas has some additional cycles (G12, G13, G150, for example) that Fanuc doesn't support, so if you use those codes in your Haas programs, they won't run on a Fanuc.

There are subtle differences - though I admit I only have experience with mills, not lathes. Plus, I believe the Haas has two modes of control - Fanuc based or Yasnac based. There are help menus to remind you what address codes are required for canned cycles, so you should find it a doddle if the Fanuc controls you are used to are particularly archaic.

Having gone in the other direction myself, I believe you may find Haas a little more user friendly once you are comfortable navigating around the control (there do seem to be too many buttons though, including a home button which you really don't want to press accidentally).

From a milling program point of view I find the Haas specific canned cycles and patterns to be useful, uncomplicated and good enough to get the job done - and I like the M97 sub call that stays within the main program.

DP

ps I wouldn't want to go back after running Manual Guide i for so long though...