586,009 active members*
4,971 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Controller & Computer Solutions > Controller replacement recommendations for a Anilam 1400

Controller replacement recommendations for a Anilam 1400

I am a newbie to cnc mills, but I have just acquired a fryer MC-32 with a old anilam 1400m controller. I can't seem to get the machine servos to engage as the machine can't seem to find the machine home. I am considering replacing the old controller with something more current? I do all the programming in CAD CAM and virtually no programming is done at the machine. Any thoughts on what controller I should use? The machine does have a 16 tool changer, coolant, reversing spindle etc to make things a little more funner. How long does it take to replace the control and how difficult is it? In time I would like to add a 4th or 5th axis as well.

iam in the exact same situation my plc shows a cpu error which is halting the machine when i disconnect the plc iam able to enable servos and moves the axis servos.... but not the spindle which goes through the plc (slc-500) ive been looking day and night on what my options are....my machine is a tree 3016 with anilam 1400 have you resolved anything with your machine it sounds like the plc too.... before i figured out that if you change the baud rate on the controller setting to not talk to the plc it will aloow you to home the machine

I think your right, but I haven't had time recently to play with it. I will let you know as soon as I give it a try. I contacted motiontek, the guys were helpful. The controller they proposed for my machine ranged between 4 and 8 k. The downfall, is that I may have to replace the spindle and I would loose the ATC. With that being said, I will likely have to stick with anilam. Keep checking ebay, I saw a anilam 1400 system a couple of weeks ago for about $1000.