507,855 active members
2,380 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 34
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0

    Question about Linistepper v2

    Hi everyone!
    For a long time i try to create the CNC router, for my hobby (r / c models), I made ​​different drivers, but I have not yet managed to put together something that works.
    I spent a lot of time reading the posts on this forum and on pminmo, collecting your experiences. I decided that my new drivers to be linistepper. The easiest, cheapest and safest way would be to buy them, but I have quite a good supply of electronic components, so I would still want to do alone, and I enjoy to make things.
    I study linistepper for long time and can conclude that I am able to make linistepper driver, but i still need help.
    The only thing that interests me, for now, is: Is it enough to create a hex file with MPLAB from ASM file attached to linistepper page, or earlier should be adjusted somewhat in the asm file.
    To be clear, I will use the PIC16F628A, if i create a hex file directly from Lini_asm_v21 file, whether it's ok or i need to adjust something in asm file before creating hex file ?

    a lot of respect ,
    Tomislav

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1397
    That should be fine. Just set the correct device, PIC16F628A, in MPLAB.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    James, thanks for your response, your answer has confirmed my desire to make linistepper.
    And big thank to Roman, for sharing his knowledge and information.

    Sincerely,
    Tomislav

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Here is my progress with linistepper.
    I used brd from Sam Waters and squize it a little and add few vias.
    I also replace crystal with ceramic resonator like on the original schematics.
    Board is now 4,5cm x 6,2cm.
    Few resistors and switch is missing but i will add them soon. I don't have them now.



    Any coment are welcome !

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1290
    nice looking board. Is it DIY or do you have access to some professional equipment.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1397
    tomovsb, that looks good! Toner Transfer? One thing I'm a bit concerned about is the power resistors... is there actually room for them? Be sure to leave lots of space for them to cool. E.g. don't solder them in right next to the board and separate them from each other. I may just not be gauging the available space correctly, but they look really close together and small. Also, if you want to drive more than 1 amp, you need to be able to add a second set or find power resistors with less than 1 ohm. Keep us posted?

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Thanks, it is toner transfer, top layer is toner transfer too.
    I will put power resistor in vertical position and between each other will be about 5-6 mm.
    I don't plan to drive motor bigger than 1A, but i will add a place for tuning resistor.

    I will post my progress with linistepper here.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Here is pcb

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1397
    Ah... I didn't think of standing them up... makes sense.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    James, you was right, i've never worked with such a large resistors so now, when i got it, i see that i have a little problem with them, in the reality it is much larger than the eagle drow on the pcb, there is no room for them, even if i put them in vertical position, but i may come up with something.
    I will post picture when i finish.
    In the meantime, I have deal with the interface board.
    This is my DIY PMinMO 4 axis, ( for linistepper ) .

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1397
    You can probably mount those power resistors off the board... I don't think a little extra lead length will make a difference... there will be some power running through those leads so watch out for any data cables running near the wires.... just like you would with motor leads. Shouldn't be much of a problem. Perhaps you can figure out some way to mechanically mount the resistors since the leads will be too long to reliably support them.

    You know, GeckoDrive puts the current sense resistors on the motor side of a connector so that the setting "goes" with the motor if you switch motors out. I don't suppose another header would happen to fit in place of those power resistor pads? Then you could call it a feature instead of a bug! LOL...

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Yes, but I decided to make a new pcb, and resets the elements.
    Now I added pins for tuning resistors.
    Thanks for the advice !




    I still didn't get those missing components yet, but i will soon.

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Linistepper v2 problem
    By DjD in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-01-2015, 07:51 AM
  2. Question about linistepper schematic
    By DigiSoft in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-01-2013, 06:40 PM
  3. Linistepper V1 simple question
    By Newuser1 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 03:11 AM
  4. Linistepper in C
    By hazimin in forum PIC Programing / Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 03:34 AM
  5. Linistepper
    By tante in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-19-2005, 04:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •