585,719 active members*
4,232 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Wikipedia: Fanuc controls and model differences?
Page 1 of 2 12

Question Wikipedia: Fanuc controls and model differences?

I am a wikipedia technology hobbyist with an interest in CNC.

I have noticed that Fanuc has a large number of different models going back many years, but there's no really clear, easily-searchable distinction between them on the web.

I have started a section about various models in the FANUC article on Wikipedia, but really I don't know where to look for more information. The Fanuc America website itself does not appear to be very helpful.

FANUC - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Perhaps some people here might be ablea to help flesh it out? Doesn't need to be at all detailed... just sum up the historical technical model differences.

Dan Fritz would be the one to tell you quite a bit about the history, he was a Fanuc engineer, you may get some info from his previous posts where he had listed the systems in chronological order, but I have not noticed him posting of late?
    I believe the 10 was the first to have FAPT conversational language option available, but it never seemed to cotton on as well as Mits/Mazak conversational.
    All the systems you show had the various options built in and just required a option bit set to obtain it, although there were some options that also required a board etc.
    The early control prior to the 0, the 3 and some 6 required an external PLC for S,M,T codes etc, the later systems had CNC/PLC co-processors that used a common backplane bus called a BMI, Basic Machine Interface, for communication and displayed ladder logic for PLC diagnosis, I believe some of the early 0's however, did not have the capability of displaying the ladder, just I/O status binary words.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design