584,850 active members*
4,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > 5x10 CNC Router using CNCROUTERPARTS Components

5x10 CNC Router using CNCROUTERPARTS Components

I am hoping to start building a CNC Router within the next month. I will be using components from cncrouterparts.com for the XY&Z axis and LVL for the base. Cutting area will be 60” x 120”. The open area at the front of the machine is for a future 4th axis. Some of the other components I have which I plan on using are.

Bob Campbell control box
    Rogers Machine encoder board
    US digital encoders
    Anaheim Automation 432 oz in Steppers
    2.2KW water cooled spindle
    Automation Direct GS2 VFD

Here are a few screen captures along with a link to the Sketchup file. The drawings are a little rough around the edges as I am new to Sketchup and this is the first thing I have drawn with it.

Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Sam
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Image00001.jpg   Image00002.jpg   Image00003.jpg   Image00004.jpg  

Image00005.jpg   Image00006.jpg  

Looks great. I suggest that you consider using CNCRouteParts's "High Z plate". Here's a link: CNCRouterParts. I think that it is much better to mount the Z and Y plates back to back especially on a large router.

Hope that you'll post photos of your build.

Don

Thanks Don, I had originally planned on using the High Z but was concerned with the total weight of the Z. As it is now the Z will weight about 32 lbs and using the High Z I figured the weight at around 40 lbs. I was worried about wear on the Z axis nut. Is weight something I need to worry about on the nut?

Sam

Get a LARGE three-ring note book, keep copies of all documentation and progress notes in there.

Make a detailed budget of your design, then make decisions based on that, coupled with engineering, motion, electronics and software considerations.