585,978 active members*
4,232 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Epoxy Granite > Reinforced concrete damping for steel machine structures.

Reinforced concrete damping for steel machine structures.

Hi All

This Paper is Well worth reading

http://www.mech.utah.edu/~bamberg/re...e%20Design.pdf

Light weight steel tubing with better damping than cast Iron.
    Low cost.

Cheers

John

That would be the "bible" for fabricated weldment + epoxy granite machine tool frames. Many excellent thoughts are there. One of my favorites.

Cheers,

BW
    Try G-Wizard Machinist's Calculator for free:
    http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCGWizard.html

Bamberg uses concrete in the build - I would be interested in his thoughts on using epoxy-granite. I am a former student, so I may shoot him an email asking his opinion as I am interested in employing his method in a personal build.

The boundary layer iis the key

Hi Giz and Bob

From My reading of it, it is the thin polymer boundary layer between the concrete shell and the segmented concrete sections that makes the significantly improved damping compared to just filling the tube with cement. That boundary layer is where the energy is dissipated as heat.

What is important is the polymer layer must be thin and the concrete must be in intimate contact with the steel shell and the concrete. (No gap) shrinkage would be a problem.
    He has used a proprietary film. I wonder if a flexible paint would achieve the same result?

To reduce shrinkage a concrete additive has been used. Apparently the additive is based on aluminum powder that when added to the mix generates small bubbles of Hydrogen expanding the concrete to fill the space.

Slocum in Precision machine design uses tuned dampers in steel tubes.
    [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Precision-Machine-Design-Alexander-Slocum/dp/0872634922]Amazon.com: Precision Machine Design (9780872634923): Alexander, H. Slocum: Books[/ame]