586,005 active members*
4,902 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

how to 3d print?

Hi everyone, my username says it all... I'm a newb at this. I'm an architecture student and have building renderings from rhino, is there anyway I could 3d print a rendering onto an mdf board? What if I want to 3d print a picture of a person I have? The machine is a laserpro explorer by the way.

Thanks

3d printing and laser cutting/engraving are two different things. 3d printing is generally squeezing out a thin filament of molten plastic in the shape you desire. It starts with nothing and builds onto that to make your piece. A laser cutter is only removing material. If you want a 3d rendering, you can either cut "slices" like layers and glue them together, or you can cut out "walls" and glue them together to form your structure. You would engrave a picture. It can be done but you cannot expect it to look good without the right picture and the right alterations to the picture using photoshop or photograv or some software like that. Maybe you should do a little googling and spend some time on youtube. There are lots of good example videos of both technologies there.

Matt

sorry I meant to say 3d engraving (correct me if I'm wrong). I'd just like to lightly engrave a pivture I have on an MDF panel

The explorer has a 3d engraving function , it uses 256 shades of grey to assign different power settings to each shade. You have to render the image as a rasster file (jpeg) in 256 shades of grey with white being not engraved and black being the areas that will engrave deepest.