585,727 active members*
4,139 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

View Poll Results: Manually code? CAD/CAM? Both?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Manually Code

    6 9.23%
  • CAD/CAM

    21 32.31%
  • Both

    38 58.46%
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    496

    Manual Code or CAD/CAM?

    Do you code manually code, use a CAD/CAM software or both?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    There are already two polls on this topic:

    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/polls/..._cad_code.html

    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/polls/...de_vs_cam.html

    Also polls are supposed to be in the Poll forum.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    91
    I manually code, but it's not g-code. G-code machines are a bit antiquated and awkward from my perspective and actually more difficult for my customers to use.
    Joe Jared - OsiruSoft Research and Engineering - http://www.oretek.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0

    hand code or cam

    Quote Originally Posted by Geof View Post
    There are already two polls on this topic:

    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/polls/..._cad_code.html

    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/polls/...de_vs_cam.html

    Also polls are supposed to be in the Poll forum.
    New to code programming, they say cam easier (looks easy to me but still I'm autocad illiterate & need to solve that along the way). Hand code input looks tedious but my boss practice this for 20 yrs already. his program are combination of g-codes & instructions that make the machine obey which is neither g-code nor anything std. Example - when cutting diameter he will write line & line of program for every cut instead of using G-code that automatically cut the material until desired diameter. setback - error when programing the input eg previos cycle cut diameter are wrongly input for the next cut thus make the machine cut more or less than required.But his way look easier for me to understand.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joejared View Post
    I manually code, but it's not g-code. G-code machines are a bit antiquated and awkward from my perspective and actually more difficult for my customers to use.
    manually code? & not G-code. explain more/example coz I'm new.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by custombald View Post
    manually code? & not G-code. explain more/example coz I'm new.
    Back in 2006, I took on a project to build my own CNC. As all of the components were made by hand, I learned a considerable amount about what I could and couldn't do, and ultimately wrote a new language more in line with what a machinist would understand.


    [nomedia="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1lYqpTKx-Q"]YouTube - ‪OreTek MicroMill - Manufacturing Pegasus RadScan ctrack1p‬‏[/nomedia]

    Here's the code:
    ---
    jog 250
    tool 1 0.125 0.0347
    tool 2 0.25 0.0213
    tool 3 0.1016 0.051
    tool 4 0.075 0.0721
    dinc 0.075
    rstep 0.010
    ipb 0.005
    xystep 0.050
    minvel 60
    acc0 $1000
    clearance 0.1


    tc
    vel 250
    prompt install 1/4 endmill S3 (casetup should be run once per batch.)
    proxy 1
    tool 1
    tc
    move 0.5,0.5,1.0,0
    vel 150
    spindle 1
    acc0 $7ffff
    bore 0.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.05,0 0.625,0.625 90,270
    vel 100
    bore 1.000,0.5,0.0,0 0.5,0 0.0625,0.0625
    bore 4.000,0.5,0.0,0 0.5,0 0.0625,0.0625
    vel 150
    bore 0.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.050,0 0.122,0.122
    bore 4.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.050,0 0.122,0.122
    bore 4.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.05,0 0.625,0.625 -90,90
    acc0 $1000
    vel 200
    facep1p2 2.813,1.0,0.0,0 3.813,1.0,0.0,0 0.75,0
    spindle 0
    tc
    vel 250
    prompt install 13/64 drill s1
    proxy 1
    tool 3
    tc
    move 1,0.5,1,0
    vel 140
    spindle 1
    drill 1,0.5,0.0,0 1.1,1.1 3.000,2 0.000,1
    spindle 0
    tc
    ---
    Joe Jared - OsiruSoft Research and Engineering - http://www.oretek.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    0
    Both, I find that for simple parts mostly in 2D space that hand erupting is faster and I have more control over the tool. How ever when I start doing arcs in 3D 3 vector I need a CAM, the math involed make ones head hurt. So learn Word Address or on the motion contral languages and use your CAM to write in that language. Then when you need to edit you can do it directly to the program.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joejared View Post
    Back in 2006, I took on a project to build my own CNC. As all of the components were made by hand, I learned a considerable amount about what I could and couldn't do, and ultimately wrote a new language more in line with what a machinist would understand.


    YouTube - ‪OreTek MicroMill - Manufacturing Pegasus RadScan ctrack1p‬‏

    Here's the code:
    ---
    jog 250
    tool 1 0.125 0.0347
    tool 2 0.25 0.0213
    tool 3 0.1016 0.051
    tool 4 0.075 0.0721
    dinc 0.075
    rstep 0.010
    ipb 0.005
    xystep 0.050
    minvel 60
    acc0 $1000
    clearance 0.1


    tc
    vel 250
    prompt install 1/4 endmill S3 (casetup should be run once per batch.)
    proxy 1
    tool 1
    tc
    move 0.5,0.5,1.0,0
    vel 150
    spindle 1
    acc0 $7ffff
    bore 0.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.05,0 0.625,0.625 90,270
    vel 100
    bore 1.000,0.5,0.0,0 0.5,0 0.0625,0.0625
    bore 4.000,0.5,0.0,0 0.5,0 0.0625,0.0625
    vel 150
    bore 0.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.050,0 0.122,0.122
    bore 4.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.050,0 0.122,0.122
    bore 4.5,0.5,0.0,0 1.05,0 0.625,0.625 -90,90
    acc0 $1000
    vel 200
    facep1p2 2.813,1.0,0.0,0 3.813,1.0,0.0,0 0.75,0
    spindle 0
    tc
    vel 250
    prompt install 13/64 drill s1
    proxy 1
    tool 3
    tc
    move 1,0.5,1,0
    vel 140
    spindle 1
    drill 1,0.5,0.0,0 1.1,1.1 3.000,2 0.000,1
    spindle 0
    tc
    ---
    hi,
    do your language may apply to my mori (fanuc controller). jthere seems to be lots of digit at single glance but this another option to consider TQ

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    0

    Speep Up

    Hi, Greetings from Colombia.

    We have a Mazak Quick Slant 20 CNC Lathe.

    We would like to change Mazatrol control - T4 on the other a little more modern that would speed up the process of turning.

    Anyone know anything?

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by custombald View Post
    hi,
    do your language may apply to my mori (fanuc controller). jthere seems to be lots of digit at single glance but this another option to consider TQ
    My interface currently only supports the Lm628/629 code for Techno machines. I've yet to try interfacing to anything other than Acroloop and Techno machines, although I do plan to port the output into G-code for some of my customers. Several new commands have been added since my original approach, including the ability to create gears.
    Joe Jared - OsiruSoft Research and Engineering - http://www.oretek.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    15
    Imagine an "object oriented" approach to programming, where you pick "components" from a button bar. The components are self contained pieces of code that perform a specific task and wrapped inside an interface. You would have "primitives" such as a circles, lines, arcs, etc. which are used internally to construct compound objects, which know how to express themselves in G-code.

    You should see "Grasshopper" for Rhinos interface concept. It is really cool once you get it. It is like the combination of both worlds...the old fashioned, by hand and spreadsheet, the other is "programming" visually by linking inputs like wiring a stereo system, or like connecting an array of audio effects.

    It is an interface issue. When you create a box in your CAD program that box should already have the ability to draw itself to G-code, as well as to the screen and printer instead of having to sift data from your CAD app and convert to G-code.

    Here goes Rhino simulating a foam cutter.
    Rhino Grasshopper Simulate Foamlinx Fx2912 cnc Foam Cutter - YouTube

  12. #12
    gtjoecobra1993 Guest
    I do alot of both nowadays myself,but i was taught by master tool n die makers back in the mid 80s all manual programming.Back in the binary code tape days.And computers maintained or not,when you have cam software/computer problems and when all your guys/gals only know master cam and nobody can manually program in your shop,well your basically ......you know what.I find any cam program,be it bobcam,mastercam newdnc pros,i dont care what they use they always fill the job with unnecessary movements/lines of code for sweet nothing.

Similar Threads

  1. I NEED: DX-32 manual, 1104-2832 VMC Operator's Manual, DX-32 CNC Control
    By vettespeed in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 02:21 AM
  2. Mecof CS100 manual & Zayer KM 8000 manual
    By australia in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 11:59 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 12:59 PM
  4. Manual entry as code in X2
    By horst007 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 10:19 PM
  5. G-code manual for Mach3 turn?
    By Green0 in forum Mach Lathe
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-26-2007, 01:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •