585,663 active members*
3,007 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Overwhelmed, need help

I am a professional SolidWorks modeler, and I just so happen to have gotten a CNC machine and a copy of SolidCAM recently from my uncle. I thought I'd be able to figure it out, I've had experience working a simple engraving machine before, however since beginning to research all of this, I am incredibly overwhelmed and have no idea where to even start.

I don't even know if the machine works or not, because I haven't been able to figure out how to test it. All the characters on it are in chinese, I have no idea what company even made it, it looks new though. On the label the model number, or at least I think its the model number, says TS-3040C, but when I google search that, I find pictures and information relating to a machine that isn't this one.

And I don't know heads from tails on this SolidCAM, nor can I find any onboard tutorials. I'd really like to get this thing working, can someone please help me, or tell me where to go to find help. I don't even have the most basic information, so where to find that would be a great start.

Thanks in advance.

-Vicanic

Try searching youtube for training videos for Solidcam.
    Last time I looked there were heaps there.
    Also, there are videos that you can download from Solidcams website.
    Cheers
    Brian.

Bugger! Submit worked twice with out showing that it did!
    Cheers
    Brian.

Having looked at the manual it seems to me that the machine is designed to run directley off ARTCAM. You need to find out what the CNC control software is, get a programming manual for the control and then you can begin to construct your post processor.

You have an awfully steep learning curve - good luck!

Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly is a post-processor?

post processor