584,866 active members*
4,982 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Cutting chamfers and fillets?

Cutting chamfers and fillets?

Hi All,

I am just starting out with Mastercam X5 for solidworks. I have been able to get mastercam to produce a tool path for flat surfaces and for pockets, but I cant understand how to produce a tool path for a fillet or a chamfer.

I have created a solid square box in solidworks and put a chamfer on each of the four top edges, very simple. I can get Mastercam to mill off the excess material from my stock setup, but for the life of me I cant make a tool path for the fillets.

Please can someone point me in the correct direction. I am pulling my hair out after 3 days.

Thanks
    Simon

Most of the time fillets follow contours, so just use the contour (edges) and create your tool with a corner radius. (2d contour with a ballnose/bullnose endmill - it's that easy)

Chamfers - use the same contours (edges) as the main wall, use 2d contour toolpath like above, then select 2d chamfer and define the size of chamfer you want - create a spot drill/chamfermill type of tool and you are done.

Post a model or file and I can help if you need.
    Tim

Hi Tim,

Thanks for getting back. Not quite sure how to put your answer into action. I tried to select a ball nose tool and a 2D contour but I still dont get what I am expecting.

I have attached a JPG of the type of cuts I am trying to make, if you are able to provide any help it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks
    Simon
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails very_simple_box.jpg  

SELECT CREATE SURFACE FROM SOLID , SELECT THE SOLID , ENTER,
    SELECT TOOLPATHS SURFACE FINISH ,SELECT RADIUS SURFACE YOU JUST CREATED SELECT FLOW FROM BOTTOM TO TOP ADJUST PARAMETERS UNTIL U LIKE IT ..