585,749 active members*
3,795 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

CNC, limited space, beginner

Hello gents,

Firstoff, let me introduce myself. I'm a Sonar Technician in the Canadian Navy for, well, going on 19 years now. That involves electronics repair, and maintenance of everything from the 510 Hull Mounted Sonar, the SQR-19 Towed Array, plus various navigation systems including the Mk. 49 Ring Laser Gyro Compass, a couple different GPS systems, etc etc. So, I'm reasonably technically savvy.

BACKGROUND

Before I joined the Navy, I completed the first semester of a machining course at a community college, and alas, the fact that I dropped the course to join the Navy without completing the other 3 semesters has been one of my few regrets.

Since I moved into my current home (6 years ago) I've been working on building up my home machine-shop. I'm now in posession of a RF-31 style manual benchtop mill, and an old Southbend 10K lathe that's mostly clapped out, but for $400, I couldn't say no.

Before the 10K and the -31, I had a Sherline 4400 lathe/mill combo setup that I was into for the better part of $2000 in parts, tooling, etc. I was, well, substantially disappointed by it's slow cutting and small work-space.

I'm now able to make some decent sized items, and have built, among other things, parts for some of my firearms, and some other little jobbies that have kept me busy and amused.

I am, foremost, a hobby machinist, not a production guy. I have helped friends out with some little jobs here and there, and enjoy that.

FUTURE PLANS

That said, I'm looking down the road towards my retirement from the Canadian Forces, and am pondering the idea of a small prototyping machine-shop setup.