585,597 active members*
3,476 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Casting Metals > Problems Casting Aluminum
Page 1 of 2 12

Problems Casting Aluminum

Hi, I am brand new to metal casting. I've only even being doing metal working of any kind for the last year or so.

I build the "two bucks" furnace and the "upwind" propane burner that are featured on backyardmetalcasting.com to create the set up in the link below.

"2 bucket" crucible furnace

The only differences between my set up and his is that my propane burner has no regulator to control psi, my crucible is made of the refractory material, (measures 4 in outside diameter and 3 in inside diameter) and that the hole I put in the bottom of the bucket is the same size as the top bucket. (approximately the diameter of a soda can)

On my first attempt to metal aluminum my burner was creating a loud roaring sound and I could only open the nozzle on the propane tank so far or it would blow itself out. One of the times it blew itself out something happened and it would only release a small amount of propane. I fixed this by completely drilling out the previous mechanism in the tubing. (It was one of those push pin pieces where it has to be pressed in to release the gas similar to a tire valve)

On my second attempt the burner was not roaring by any means. I was a calm steady flame. I could have the nozzle to the propane tank fully open with out much difference. After 40 minutes of this all I achieved was an orange refractory, crucible, and aluminum. No where near the pink to purple color shown in the images on backyard metal casting. At best the aluminum was malleable.