509,915 active members
3,159 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 32
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0

    Unhappy TB6560 driver x VFD

    I have a chinese TB6560 driver board and would like to control my VFD (turn the spindle on/off and change its speed) by software. The board has a spindle control/relay but the "manual" has no information on how to use it.

    I've contacted the seller, but, he couldn't even understand the question

    Have you ever used this function or know how to do it?
    What would you suggest?

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2141
    Do you have one of the blue, 4-axis or 3-axis boards?

    In the first post of the thread at http://www.cnczone.com/forums/genera...y_chinese.html, there is an attached file named schematic_controller_TB6560.zip‎ that contains schematic diagrams for a 4-axis board (you should double check to make sure that your board is wired in the same way as the OP's board). If you unzip that file and look at Slide01.JPG, Slide02.JPG, and Slide03.JPG, you can trace out the wiring for the spindle relay control.

    It looks like pin 2 of the DB-25 connector is used for spindle control. I'm not sure from the schematic whether that pin is "active high" or "active low", but it should be easy enough to test. A "high" (+5 volt) signal on that pin will probably energize the relay "RLY61", but if not, then a "low" (0 volt) signal on that pin should do the trick. The spindle relay input line should also be present at pin 10 of the DB-15 accessory connector (but if you want to control the spindle from Mach3 or other software, then you would probably use the DB-25 input instead of the DB-15 input).

    It looks like 2 relay contact pins are taken to an output connector on the board (the 4-pin green connector on the edge of the board, close to the black relay). The other two pins of that connector are supposedly connected to ground. I do not know what the relay output contact current or voltage rating is (but maybe that is printed on the relay itself).

    As far as I know, the blue Chinese TB6560 driver boards do not have the capability of putting out a variable control voltage to set the VFD spindle speed. Some other drivers (such as the Geckodrive G540_ have a 0 - 10 volt analog output for that purpose.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0

    Thanks, doorknob!

    Mine is 5axis blue one, very similar to lasik2025's one.
    I´ve just downloaded the file and will study the schematics before trying something. Thank you!

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    96

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Quote Originally Posted by doorknob View Post
    Do you have one of the blue, 4-axis or 3-axis boards?

    In the first post of the thread at http://www.cnczone.com/forums/genera...y_chinese.html, there is an attached file named schematic_controller_TB6560.zip‎ that contains schematic diagrams for a 4-axis board (you should double check to make sure that your board is wired in the same way as the OP's board). If you unzip that file and look at Slide01.JPG, Slide02.JPG, and Slide03.JPG, you can trace out the wiring for the spindle relay control.

    It looks like pin 2 of the DB-25 connector is used for spindle control. I'm not sure from the schematic whether that pin is "active high" or "active low", but it should be easy enough to test. A "high" (+5 volt) signal on that pin will probably energize the relay "RLY61", but if not, then a "low" (0 volt) signal on that pin should do the trick. The spindle relay input line should also be present at pin 10 of the DB-15 accessory connector (but if you want to control the spindle from Mach3 or other software, then you would probably use the DB-25 input instead of the DB-15 input).

    It looks like 2 relay contact pins are taken to an output connector on the board (the 4-pin green connector on the edge of the board, close to the black relay). The other two pins of that connector are supposedly connected to ground. I do not know what the relay output contact current or voltage rating is (but maybe that is printed on the relay itself).

    As far as I know, the blue Chinese TB6560 driver boards do not have the capability of putting out a variable control voltage to set the VFD spindle speed. Some other drivers (such as the Geckodrive G540_ have a 0 - 10 volt analog output for that purpose.
    My 4 Axis TB6560 board has a relay rating of 36V 7.5A !! is that any close to operate a 1.5KW Chinese spindle?!! please let me know

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2141

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    No, it is not rated to directly switch that big an electrical load.

    However your spindle is probably designed to be driven by a VFD which would typically be powered off of a 220 volt AC line, and it is possible that the VFD may have a lower-voltage, lower-current spindle on/off control input that you could control with that relay (but you would need to verify that by checking the manual for the VFD).

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    96

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Very True, and i have already tried to find any information on that in the VFD manual but could not! the whole 66 pages of the manual listed the word relay only one time!
    here is its link www.jinlantrade.com/ebay/invertermanual.pdf
    I really dont want to risk damaging that board for such not necessary thing, but would be good to use it
    Thanks for your reply

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2141

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    I'm not certain, but it is possible that the Forward Run input can be switched by a relay, where connecting that terminal to ground turns the spindle on, however that is just a guess.

    That operation may be affected by the setting of some internal control values, but it may also be the default configuration.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    96

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Yes that is also very true and I know how to do that as well as the settings needed in the VFD, I am just uncertain with the voltage/amps ratings of the board, would it be ok or not?
    I believe since it is connected to a VFD not directly to a router it should be perfectly fine and can work with any VFD no matter how power demanding the spindle requires, correct me
    thank again

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10546

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Graphicman

    There are many ways to make the VFD run the manual you have is very good, make sure you have the main Parameters set as these drives are not tolerant of incorrect settings

    Huanyang Mactec54
    PD000=0 for Parameter unlock ( 1 ) for Parameter Lock
    PD001=0 (1 For Remote Control)
    PD002=0
    PD003=400
    PD004=400
    PD005=400
    PD007=20
    PD008=220
    PD011=120 (Minimum Setting 120)
    PD009=15
    PD010=8
    PD13= 08 is for Factory reset, Only use this to set VFD to Factory Default Settings
    PD014 Accel=12 ( Adjust to suit)
    PD015 Deccl=12 (Adjust to suit) ( PD15 is ignored IF PD26=1 Then the Spindle will Coast to a Stop)
    PD141=220 ( Motor Rated Voltage )
    PD142=9 ( Motor Max Amps) (Set for your motor Amp Rating 2.2Kw Spindle 9 amp Max)
    (Set for your motor Amp Rating 1.5Kw Spindle 7 amp Max)
    PD143=2 ( Motor Number of Poles)
    PD144=3000 (Max Motor RPM) =3,000= (24,000)


    This is one way to get it running
    Mactec54

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    96

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Thank you mactec54 very much

    but like i mentioned, my missing information is about the relay requirements., i just want to make sure that the 36v, 7.5A is safe enough to use with the VFD
    i have no idea what the VFD control requires for this

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10546

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Quote Originally Posted by Graphicman View Post
    Thank you mactec54 very much

    but like i mentioned, my missing information is about the relay requirements., i just want to make sure that the 36v, 7.5A is safe enough to use with the VFD
    i have no idea what the VFD control requires for this

    No that would not be good to use 36V for switching the VFD on, Not at anytime, the voltage for this type of switching is supplied by the VFD so your relay should only be working like a switch, with no voltage on it's outputs
    Mactec54

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    96

    Re: TB6560 driver x VFD

    Thanks but i am still confused
    here is a link for the driver manual
    https://www.machsupport.com/forum/in...0;attach=23971

    on the first page there is the only line for the relay
    it syas it is up to 36v 7.5A max

    please let me know i feel it should work with the vfd!

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for Driver after TB6560 exploded
    By 24ariel3 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-03-2014, 09:36 AM
  2. Replacing TB6560 driver board's driver chip. Is it possible?
    By Moodaguda in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2013, 09:02 AM
  3. TB6560 driver and speed
    By modric in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-29-2013, 01:26 PM
  4. tb6560 driver issues
    By alkalin in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 01-10-2013, 09:24 AM
  5. TB6560 Driver Chips
    By Imagineering in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2013, 08:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •