585,727 active members*
3,956 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DIY controll box statup

Hi guys,

I've been building a DIY control box with the help of a member of the forums here.,

He has pretty much helped from the start by helping by obtaining parts and giving me advice on lots of stuff. Of late tho he has just dropped off the end of the earth making it hard for me to be in contact with him.

I was given a schematic by him for which to follow for building a control box. As I'm new to electronics and this whole field practically i drew up my own version to try and understand it better.

I was made aware that we were making a very well rounded control box with relays to control the routers etc.

My questions are-

Can anyone here see anything which is directly wrong with the schematics

I'm getting the power on.. Using my limited experience of a multimeter I managed to get a reading of 3 volts from the 240 volt female jack in.

As advised i did try a test reading from the Capacitors just before they get to the Gecko drivers to check I was getting the right voltage as I didn't want to risk blowing the Gecko drivers.

I should have been getting around 50/60 volts from the caps but nothing .

Can't seem to find any DIY pre controller setup thread to see if other have start up problems

BTW those yellow boxes on the colored diagram are connection boxes.
    James
    cheers

Original schematic ( my design is slightly different with less relays)

Simplified with colours

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I am a little bit reluctant to give advice because you do not have a lot of experience with electronics and you are working in the vicinity of 240 volt mains power, which can be dangerous if you're unsure of what you're doing.

So my initial advice would be for you to find another friend who has at least some basic electronics knowledge to work beside you and keep you safe.